The Prussian Machine  -  Prussia

back to  Prussia  home    



Timeline of Prussia


Prussia was the largely militaristic state of North Central Europe that dominated Germany until the post-Great War rise of Nazism. At one point it stretched from west of the Rhine to Poland and Russia. The Baltic territory known as East Prussia was Germanized by the Teutonic Knights in the 1200s, later becoming the Duchy of Prussia. In 1618 it came under the rule of the Hohenzollerns (the Electors of Brandenburg), with Friedrich I declaring himself King of Prussia in 1701. Under his successors, such as Friedrich II, Prussia expanded to become one of the strongest military powers in Europe, receiving a setback during the Napoleonic Wars, but later recovering. In 1862 Bismarck became premier, and as a result of a planned series of wars and skillful diplomacy conducted under his direction, Wilhelm I was declared Germany's emperor (Kaiser) in 1871 at Versailles.

Prussia was the largest and most powerful of the states of the united Germany and continued so until 1934, when by a decree of Hitler, the separate German states ceased to exist as political entities.  Following World War 2, former Prussian territory was divided among East Germany, Poland and the USSR.

Prussian Timeline
 Germanic conquest of the Wends  6-12th c.
 Battle of Tannenburg  1410
 Brandenburg given to Count Friedrich  1415
 Prussia made a Polish duchy  1525
 Prussia inherited by Johann Sigismund  1618
 Thirty Years' War  1618-48
 Prussia ceded to Brandenburg  1660
 Kingdom of Prussia named under Hohenzollerns  1701
 Pomerania won from Sweden  1715
 War of Polish Succession  1734-35
 War of Austrian Succession  1740-48
 Seven Years' War  (Saxony)  1756-63
 Partition of Poland  1772
 Battle of Jena-Auerstadt  1806
 Battle of Friedland  1807
 Treaties of Tilsit  
 Scharnhorst begins reorganization of military
 Re-establishment of War Ministry  1808    
 Treaty of Paris
 Battle of Wagram  1809
 Battle of Borodino  1812
 Napoleon retreats from Moscow
 Convention of Tauroggen
 Scharnhorst named Quartermaster General  1813
 Battle of Luetzen  (Gross Goerschen)
 Battle of Leipzig
 1st abdication of Napoleon  1814
 Congress of Vienna  
 Battle of Waterloo (Belgium)  1815
 2nd abdication of Napoleon
 Peace of Paris
 Zollverein  (Customs Union)  1834
 2-year compulsory military service established  1836
 First Prussian-Danish War  1848
 Austro-French War  1859
 Bismarck named Prime Minister  1862
 Second Prussian-Danish War  1864
 Seven Weeks War  (Prussia/Italy vs Austria)  1866
 Battle of Koeniggraetz/Sadowa  (Hradec Kralove)  
 Franco-Prussian "Luxemburg Crisis"  1867
 Franco-Prussian War  1870 
 Battles of Mar la Tour & Gravelotte
 Battle of Sedan
 Surrender of Paris  1871
 German Empire declared under Wilhelm I
 Bismarck resigns  1890
 General Staff plans 2-front war  1894
 von Schlieffen Plan developed  1905
 Army expands from 136,000 to 760,000  1913
 World War One  1914-18


*     *     *